Dustborn: Blog Tour




I am thrilled to be part of the tour for one of my favorite books of 2021, DUSTBORN by Erin Bowman! This tour is hosted by Terminal Tours. *I was given a free copy to review.*

DUSTBORN is published by HMH and is available now wherever books are sold.





Delta of Dead River sets out to rescue her family from a ruthless dictator rising to power in the Wastes and discovers a secret that will reshape her world in this postapocalyptic Western mashup for fans of Mad Max and Gunslinger Girl.


Delta of Dead River has always been told to hide her back, where a map is branded on her skin to a rumored paradise called the Verdant. In a wasteland plagued by dust squalls, geomagnetic storms, and solar flares, many would kill for it—even if no one can read it. So when raiders sent by a man known as the General attack her village, Delta suspects he is searching for her.


Delta sets out to rescue her family but quickly learns that in the Wastes no one can be trusted—perhaps not even her childhood friend, Asher, who has been missing for nearly a decade. If Delta can trust Asher, she just might decode the map and trade evidence of the Verdant to the General for her family. What Delta doesn’t count on is what waits at the Verdant: a long-forgotten secret that will shake the foundation of her entire world.






MY REVIEW


Erin Bowman has solidified herself as one of my favorites authors, and I was so excited to see what this book had to offer. I was not let down whatsoever.

First, let's focus on the cover. I get Dune/Mad Max/Waterworld vibes and save for Waterworld, I was in like a chicken wing. The story starts off with Delta and her pack, who live in a sand-filled world where their gods have seemingly abandoned them. When her sister falls ill during childbirth, Delta takes her to a healer. But tragedy strikes and Delta finds that the General has attacked her home, killing and kidnapping those she loves. Little does she know, her world is about to get turned upside down when her childhood friend, Asher, appears. is he there to help or hinder her?? Dun, dun, DUNNNNNNN

Ok, the world-building was so epic. I love worlds that have been dried out or frozen over. It gives the book such a depressing vibe that our protagonist has to overcome on top of the main point of the story. The sands are an antagonist in themselves. It sucks to have to save your family but to also dodge vicious storms and bubbling hot lava-type fields, that's another ballgame. 

Delta is a badarse heroine who, along the way, discovers how far she's willing to go for those she loves, and like most YA, she stumbles and enlists the help of others, whether she trusts them fully or not. She knows she cannot go at it alone. 

The plot itself kept me engaged enough to slog through my days, exhausted because I stayed up way too late reading. I have slogged for you, Erin Bowman, but it was worth it one hundred percent. None of the twists was all that mouth-gaping and wide-eyed, but I enjoyed them nonetheless. 

The cover is epic. Did I already say that?

5 stars. Duh.

Link to the tour schedule: https://www.thebookterminal.com/post/dustborntour

About the Author



Erin Bowman is the critically acclaimed author of numerous books for children and teens, including the Taken Trilogy, Vengeance Road, Retribution Rails, the Edgar Award-nominated Contagion duology, The Girl and the Witch’s Garden, and the forthcoming Dustborn. A web designer turned author, Erin has always been invested in telling stories—both visually and with words. Erin lives in New Hampshire with her husband and children. You can visit her online at embowman.com, on twitter @erin_bowman, or on instagram @heyerin.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All