Glimpsed: Blog Tour & Review



Hi!!! I am so honored to be part of the book tour hosted by Favourite Pages. Glimpsed is a YA romance with a touch of magical realism that I simply devoured. Check out the blurb below and keep reading for my interview!


Check out the tour schedule here


ABOUT THE BOOK



Perfect for fans of Geekerella and Jenn Bennett, this charming, sparkly rom-com follows a wish-granting teen forced to question if she’s really doing good—and if she has the power to make her own dreams come true. Charity is a fairy godmother. She doesn’t wear a poofy dress or go around waving a wand, but she does make sure the deepest desires of the student population at Jack London High School come true. And she knows what they want even better than they do because she can glimpse their perfect futures. But when Charity fulfills a glimpse that gets Vibha crowned homecoming queen, it ends in disaster. Suddenly, every wish Charity has ever granted is called into question. Has she really been helping people? Where do these glimpses come from, anyway? What if she’s not getting the whole picture?


Making this existential crisis way worse is Noah—the adorkable and (in Charity’s opinion) diabolical ex of one of her past clients—who blames her for sabotaging his prom plans and claims her interventions are doing more harm than good. He demands that she stop granting wishes and help him get his girl back. At first, Charity has no choice but to play along. But soon, Noah becomes an unexpected ally in getting to the bottom of the glimpses. Before long, Charity dares to call him her friend...and even starts to wish he were something more. But can the fairy godmother ever get the happily ever after?


MY REVIEW





“The fairy godmother doesn’t get her own story.”


Things I loved:


enemies to lovers

fake dating

magical realism

geek boys


Intrigued? You should be. GLIMPSED is about a girl named Charity who is an honest to God Fairy Godmother. When she “glimpses” wishes from people, she takes it upon herself to help make those wishes come true. Now, it doesn’t happen with a wave of her wand and a bippity boopity boo; it takes work and dedication. This transaction of wish-making is hush hush so when she’s completed her mission, her “Cindys” (Cindies?) and herself go their separate ways.


But when a boy named Noah blackmails her (threatens to out her secret) she’s forced to help him win back the girl he lost to one of Charity’s Cindys. He wants her to stop messing with people's lives, as he calls it. Soon, Charity seeks a way to stop the “glimpses” and her habit of pushing people away. Love ensues. Lots of love, and also lots of complications. But love is messy. And so is magic.


Charity is a great character. She’s part of the Poms at school and she’s pretty popular. I don’t read too many books where the girl is high in the social standings in high school. But that’s not to say that’s he doesn’t grow as a character. She had room for a huge character arc. So does Noah. Their relationship is strange at first, but opposites attract, right?


The one thing that has in common is that they are both so horribly stubborn. But I wanted them both to have their happily ever after :D


This book turned my heart to mush! I found it refreshing, and fun. I’m a sucker for good enemies to lovers, but this one turned it on the trope’s head. It’s done so wonderfully that you don’t realize you’re in the midst of a YA trope. Not to mention the fairytale aspect of the book. AHHHHH! It was exceptional!


Read this if you like all of the above, buy this if you want a cute cover that’ll look just magical on your bookshelf.


I’ve never read one like it so I can’t comp you guys any titles, but that’s a good thing!


Add it to Goodreads

Buy from Amazon

Buy from Barnes and Noble

Buy from Book Depository

Buy from Kobo





G. F. Miller promises you, dear reader, three things they always seem to have in common: love, snappy dialogue, and happy endings. She's also a big fan of the Oxford comma.


What else could you want to know, really? She's married to her college sweetheart and is mom to three littles who routinely make her heart burst and her head explodes (it's a messy business, love). There are puppies big and small residing at her house (you'll be seeing a lot of them if you follow her on Instagram). She's been to a dozen countries, but not nearly as many as she would like. She loves learning all the things. She cries at all the wrong times. She makes faces at herself in the mirror. And she's always here for a dance party.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
 
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

©2020 by Author Celia McMahon. Proudly created with Wix.com