Muted: Blog Tour and Review


Welcome to my tour stop for MUTED written by Tami Charles and hosted by Terminal Tours.





A ripped-from-the-headlines novel of ambition, music, and innocence

lost, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jason Reynolds!


Be bold. Get seen. Be Heard.


For seventeen-year-old Denver, music is everything. Writing, performing, and

her ultimate goal: escaping her very small, very white hometown.


So Denver is more than ready on the day she and her best friends Dali and

Shak sing their way into the orbit of the biggest R&B star in the world, Sean

"Mercury" Ellis. Merc gives them everything: parties, perks, wild nights -- plus

hours and hours in the recording studio. Even the painful sacrifices and the


lies the girls have to tell are all worth it.


Until they're not.


Denver begins to realize that she's trapped in Merc's world, struggling to hold

on to her own voice. As the dream turns into a nightmare, she must make a


choice: lose her big break, or get broken.


Inspired by true events, Muted is a fearless exploration of the dark side of the

music industry, the business of exploitation, how a girl's dreams can be used


against her -- and what it takes to fight back.


My review and rating

✰✰✰✰✰



For 2021, I vowed to step outside of my comfort zone and experience new genres, new authors, and expand my literary prowess. I vow a lot of things that I never get around to doing. But I succeeded so far this year.


Told in verse, MUTED follows seventeen year-old Denver who wants nothing more than to make it big in the music industry. When she and her two friends take a chance in exposing themselves to a legendary R&B singer, they quickly find themselves drowning in promises of stardom, all at the hands of a man who may or may not have their best interests at heart.


We spiral down with Denver, down, down…


She’s stepping into the viper pit of drugs and parties and manipulative men. As the story progresses, we see hints of danger screaming at us from short bursts of narrative. But the glam and the pretty words only cover up a lethal reality that crescendos into one of the most heartbreaking stories I’ve ever read.


MUTED is based on true events, and one can make theories into what events, but most of us can make an educated guess.



Muted is the first novel I’ve ever read in verse, and I cannot express how floored I am. Are all novels in verse this astounding? Have I been sleeping on this style of narrative poetry? If I’ve been this closed off in my reading, what else am I missing? I digress…


In closing, I cannot say I loved this book for it stands as an example to the dark side of the music industry and it is not all happy endings and rainbows and butterflies, but I appreciated the message, and the beauty of its words.


Rating: *****



QUEER REP (Denver is a lesbian)


TRIGGER WARNING for rape, kidnapping, homophobia, drug use, forced weight loss, and violence.


Buy MUTED here

Add it to Goodreads


Tami Charles writes picture books, middle grade, young adult, and nonfiction. Her middle grade debut novel, LIKE VANESSA, was selected by the Junior Library Guild for its spring 2018 collection. The American Bookseller's Association also selected LIKE VANESSA for its Indies Introduce Kids List for 2018. ...Google Books













This tour is hosted by Terminal Tours. Find them on Twitter @Toursterminal.


The Blog Schedule.

____________________

Tour Schedule - Bloggers

Feb 9th

What She Will Read - Welcome Post

forthennovellovers - Review

The Baroness of Books - Spotlight

Feb 10th

Metaphors and Miscellanea - Review

We Write at Dawn - Spotlight

Feb 11th

A Short Book Lover - Review

What She Will Read - Review

Feb 12th

Endless Pages - Review

Feb 13th

Allisa White’s Book Blog - Review

Feb 14th

Chloe Scully - Playlist

Geekiemind - Review

Feb 15th

Storme Reads A Lot - Playlist

Whimsicalblessingsblog - Review

Feb 16th

BooksDramas&More - Review

leosthetics - Review

Feb 17th

Oh! The Books You Can Read! - Review

The World of Celia McMahon - Review

Feb 18th

A Bronx Latina Reads - Review

Pop Reads Reviews - Review

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
 
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

©2020 by Author Celia McMahon. Proudly created with Wix.com