The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow: blog tour/giveaway



You made it to my tour stop of THE OKAY WITCH AND THE HUNGRY SHADOW!!!! This tour is hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. If you're into graphic novels, you guys need to check out this one.






Emma Steinkellner is an illustrator, writer, and cartoonist living in Los Angeles, California. She is a graduate of Stanford University and the illustrator of the Eisner-nominated comic Quince. She is the author and illustrator of The Okay Witch graphic novel series.


Website Instagram Twitter Goodreads Amazon


Get THE OKAY WITCH BOOK ONE HERE















Title: THE OKAY WITCH AND THE HUNGRY SHADOW (The Okay Witch #2)

Author: Emma Steinkellner

Pub. Date: July 6, 2019

Publisher: Aladdin

Formats: Hardcover, paperback, eBook

Pages: 256


Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Kindle, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD, Bookshop.org


In this hilarious and heartwarming sequel to the bestselling and critically acclaimed graphic

novel, The Okay Witch, half-witch Moth Hush uses magic to boost her confidence with

disastrous results—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Molly Ostertag!


Moth Hush is starting to settle into her newfound witch heritage and powers, but life at school

continues to be rough. Even her best friend, Charlie, doesn’t entirely understand what it’s like

for her to always be the one who gets mocked, and things only get worse when Moth’s mom

starts dating one of the dorkiest teachers in the school! Then Moth gets hold of a mysterious

charm that can unleash another version of herself—one who is confident, cool, and extremely

popular. What could possibly go wrong?


PRAISE FOR THE OKAY WITCH:

“Lighthearted and cheeky.” – The New York Times

“Steinkellner’s debut graphic novel is a tour de force of middle-grade storytelling.” – School

Library Journal, starred review


“The Okay Witch is the perfect read for kids who love Hocus Pocus.” – A.V. Club






Dare I say this was better than the first? I don't know. I may just love these two books dearly and squeeze them until they can't breathe.


Oh, and it's set in my home state. :D


Okay, real talk. I am so impressed with how much loved this book. Moth (and her wardrobe) hold my heart. UGH. I know I said I'd squeeze the heck out of these books, but maybe they have a better hold on me than I thought. Moth is having a hard time with the class bully named Pike, and throw in her mom dating her teacher and magic she still doesn't understand fully, we have a recipe for a very anxious middle schooler. So when the opportunity comes to summon some confidence via a magical amulet. She uses this magic (although she vowed never to use magic in school) to stand up to Pike. But the power of the amulet comes with a price, and Moth must find the confidence all on her own if she hopes to save everyone from a scheming ghost.





Sweater vests and hoodie and mitten cats (SQUEEEEEE) aside this book has a strong plot-line and character development. The B characters are superb especially cinnamon roll Mr. Gorski-Garcia. Evidence below.


I LOOOOOOOVE HIM. I want him to stick around forever and ever.


Oh, and there's a quick recap at the beginning and I wish every book had one of these.


Pair a great story with amazing artwork and you have a hit. I would rec these books to everyone loving cute graphic novels with magic and middle schoolers struggling with their identity and finding their crowd. I love these books and I hope there will be more in the (near) future.




3 lucky winners will win a finished copy of THE OKAY WITCH AND THE HUNGRY SHADOW


RAFFLECOPTER LINK






Week One: 6/28/2021A Dream Within A DreamExcerpt

6/28/2021Rajiv's ReviewsReview

6/29/2021Kait Plus BooksInterview

6/29/2021Two Points of InterestReview

6/30/2021cindysloveofbooksReview

6/30/2021laura's bookish corner Review

7/1/2021Hurn PublicationsExcerpt

7/1/2021celiamcmahonreadsReview

7/2/2021@drewsim12Review

7/2/2021The Momma SpotReview

Week Two: 7/5/2021brittreadsalattebooksReview

7/5/2021Lady HawkeyeExcerpt

7/6/2021FictitiouswonderlandReview

7/6/2021Pandora's BooksReview

7/7/2021hauntedbybooksReview

7/7/2021Curlygrannylovestoread IG Spotlight

7/8/2021Confessions of a YA Reader Review

7/8/2021Nerdophiles Review

7/9/2021Eli to the nthReview

7/9/2021Simply Daniel RadcliffeReview


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All